The Pitkin County Sheriff's Office (PCSO) Records Department is responsible for the retention of Sheriff records for PCSO; as well as the release of information to the public, courts, other law enforcement agencies and insurance companies.
The PCSO Records Department charges a reasonable fee for copies of Sheriff reports, traffic accident reports, communications recordings and other services. Effective January 1, 2009, the fees are as follows:
|Accident Reports Obtained from records office||$ 7.00|
|Accident Reports Obtained online through TracView||$12.00|
|Case Reports per search, plus per copied page fee|
per copied page
|Criminal Arrest History, per search||$ 7.00|
|Photograph Copies: mug shots||$ 5.00|
|Photograph CD, per CD||$15.00|
|Video DVD, per DVD||$15.00|
|Dispatch Audio Recording, per CD||$15.00|
|Communications Search, per hour ||$25.00|
|Microfilm Copy, per search, plus per copied page fee||$10.00|
| per copied microfilm page||$ 2.00|
Acceptable methods of payment are cash, check, Visa or MasterCard. Checks must be made payable to "PCSO Records Department".Case Reports
The PCSO Records Department has developed policies and procedures in compliance with Colorado state statutes regarding the release of reports, balancing public disclosure with the right to privacy. Release of case reports is dependent on a variety of circumstances, such as, but not limited to the type of report, status of the investigation, and ages of the individuals involved in the report. Colorado state statutes prohibit the release of certain case reports or information relating to at-risk adults, juveniles, victims of crime and on-going police investigations. Reports will be reviewed by appropriate personnel to determine if reports can be released. In some instances, the released report may have certain information redacted.
Copies of case reports are generally available within three working days after the incident has been reported. To request a copy of a police report, please complete a Request for Report Copy
. The fee for case reports is $7.00, plus $ .25 per page. These fees also apply to copies of jail documents. Completed forms can be faxed, mailed or brought in to the Records Office. No reports will be released without a signed and completed request form and the appropriate fees paid.
Basic traffic accidents and traffic-related offenses can be released immediately, once the officer has completed the report. Accident reports can be obtained at www.docview.us.com
. DOCView is an internet based application developed to help law enforcement agencies, citizens and insurance companies manage and access traffic accident reports in a more efficient manner. Individuals who do not have access to the internet may still submit a completed Request for Report Copy
form to the PCSO Records Department to obtain a copy of an accident reports. The fee for accident reports obtained online from DOCView is $12.00 per report. The fee for accident reports obtained at the Records Office is $7.00 per report.Criminal Arrest History
The PCSO Records Department can provide a criminal background check for residents Pitkin County. Requests must include the full name and date of birth of the person for which the background check is being requested. This ensures that the criminal record has been correctly identified prior to the release of the record. Please complete the Criminal Arrest Records Search
form and submit it with payment to the PCSO Records Department. The fee for a criminal arrest history is $7.00. Criminal background checks may take up to three days to complete and requestors will receive one of the following:
- If a local criminal record exists, the requestor will receive a list of arrests on file with the Pitkin County Sheriff. Juvenile arrests will not be included. The PCSO Records Department does not maintain court dispositions on arrests. If this type of information is required, please contact the Pitkin County Combined Court at 970-925-7635 to request the official case disposition.
- If there are no local arrests on file, the requestor will receive a clearance letter advising that there are no arrests.
If you require a statewide background check, please contact the Colorado Bureau of Investigation (CBI) at (303) 239-4300. A statewide background check can also be ordered through CBI's website at www.cbirecordscheck.com
An individual may also request a copy of his or her own FBI Identification Record for personal review. Specific instructions for obtaining an FBI Identification Record can be obtained at www.fbi.gov/hq/cjisd/fprequest.htm
. Reasons an individual may request a copy of his or her own Identification Record may include employment or licensing within the United States, international adoption or to satisfy a requirement to live or work in a foreign country.Photographs
Mug shots and other photographs may be available for release. Please complete a Request for Report Copy
form and submit it to the PCSO Records Department to obtain photographs either on CD or hard-copy. Fees vary. Please see the Miscellaneous Fees for specifics. Dispatch Recordings
Please complete a Request For Dispatch Recording
and provide as much information about the incident as possible. The fee is $15.00 for a CD recording. An additional $25.00 per hour fee will be assessed for extensive searches.Registered Sex Offenders
The PCSO Records Department maintains registered sex offender listings for individuals residing in unincorporated Pitkin County. Citizens can request the lists of registered sex offenders by completing and submitting Sex Offender Registry Request Form
. There is no charge for the registered sex offender lists.Crime Statistics
Citizens must complete a Request for Report Copy
form with as much pertinent information as possible. The fee is $7.00, but can vary based on the complexity of the request.Records Research
This applies to requests not covered in the miscellaneous fee schedule and includes complex research that requires extensive personnel, equipment and resources for the search, retrieval, redaction and manipulation of data. Citizens must complete a Request for Report Copy
form with as much pertinent information as possible. The fee is $25.00 per hour, plus additional fees for copies as applicable.