The County Treasurer's Office bills property taxes from the tax roll
warrant certified by the County Assessor. Tax notices are sent out mid-January
of every year. In Colorado you pay the prior year taxes during the current
year. Colorado Revised State Statute39-10-103(1)(a)
contact the Treasurer’s Office if you have not received your notice by
Taxes are calculated by
multiplying the assessed value times the mill levy.
Valuation is set
by the Assessor’s Office in May of the prior year
o Please contact the Assessor’s Office if you have
questions on how the valuation was determined
set the mill levies in December of the prior year (County commissioners, School
Boards, City Council, voter approval and directors of districts)
o Mill Levy Breakdown: Mill Levies by District.pdf
of any person to receive their annual tax notice shall not preclude collection
by the treasurer of the amount of taxes due and payable by such person. Colorado
Revised State Statute. 39-10-103(1)(a).
delinquent interest and other charges shall apply to delinquent payments. Colorado
Revised State Statute. 39-10-104.5
taxes are apportioned and distributed by the Treasurer to the various taxing
authorities listed on your tax notice.
your taxes are paid into an escrow account as part of your monthly mortgage
payment, it is your responsibility to forward the tax notice to your mortgage
lender and to verify that your taxes have been paid. Please keep a copy for
your records, as we do NOT bill the mortgage companies directly.
The Treasurer is not responsible for erroneous payments, if in doubt, please
check with your mortgage lender to determine who is responsible for the tax
tax less than $25.00 must be paid in full. C.R.S. 39-10-104.5(6)
accurate credit of your payment, please include the proper coupon or reference
the account/schedule number on your check.
checks payable to: PITKIN COUNTY TREASURER for the exact amount. Checks must be
drawn on a U.S. Bank in U.S. Funds.
pay by credit card visit www.officalpayment.com
or call 1-800-2PAY-TAX. (Use Jurisdiction Code 1607)
is also accepted in the office of the Treasurer.
are not accepted.
Wires are accepted on a case to case basis. Please contact the Treasurer’s
Office if you wish to send a wire. Failure of doing so could result in the wire
you owe past year taxes, all redemption funds MUST be tendered in the form of a
Cashier's Check or Cash.
13-21-109 allows the Treasurer to collect an amount equal to the face amount of
any returned check or draft. It is the policy of the Pitkin County Treasurer's
office to collect a $20.00 returned check fee for each returned check.
Payment Due Dates
If the due date for your
property taxes falls upon a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday, it shall be
deemed to have been timely filed if filed on the next business day, C.R.S.
- If paying property taxes in two equal installments, the first half of taxes
must be postmarked no later than the last day in February.
- If paying property taxes in a single payment (not paid in installments) the
full/whole amount must be postmarked no later than April 30th.
- If paying property taxes in two equal installments, the second half of taxes
must be postmarked no later than June 15th.
If paying taxes after the due
dates, please contact the Pitkin County Treasurer's office at (970) 920-5170
for the correct amount of interest due.
Interest must be included
with payment. Calculate as follows:
Less than $25
Payment after August
Please contact the
for proper amount of interest and other fees.
Delinquent REAL estate taxes will be advertised once a week for three
consecutive weeks prior to the annual Tax Lien Sale held in November. Taxes
remaining unpaid shall then be sold at Tax Lien Sale for the amount of taxes,
accrued interest, advertising, and other applicable charges (C.R.S. 39-11-102)
A Tax Lien Sale Certificate of Purchase will be issued to the purchaser of a
tax lien. The tax, plus interest, advertising and certificate fees will accrue
interest from the date of sale at the legal percentage rate pursuant to C.R.S.
39-11-117 and 39-12-103.
Real estate tax liens may be redeemed at any time within three years from the
date of sale or at any time before a tax deed is issued. Redemption funds MUST
be tendered in the form of a Cashier's Check or Cash.
Colorado Statutes 39-12-103. Redemption made - interest. (1) Real property for
which a tax lien was sold under the provisions of article 11 of this title as a
result of delinquent taxes may be redeemed by the owner thereof or his agent,
assignee, or attorney, or by any person having a legal or equitable claim
therein, or by a holder of a tax sale certificate; except that such holder may
redeem such real property from any sale of a tax lien thereof made subsequent
to the time of the issuance of the tax sale certificate upon which he is
relying, and the amount paid for the redemption of the subsequent certificate
of purchase shall be endorsed as subsequent taxes paid on the certificate upon
which he is relying.
Delinquent Mobile Home - Personal Property taxes will be advertised once in
September and after October 1 they shall be subject to distraint, seizure and
sale. C.R.S. 39-10-111).
If your Personal Property Notice shows a late filing fee, contact the Pitkin
County Assessor's Office (970) 920-5160 for an explanation