Pitkin County Cares Volunteer Service Awards Announced
Ten outstanding Roaring Fork Valley Residents are being honored for their volunteer work in Pitkin County. They were nominated by citizens to receive the Pitkin County Cares Volunteer Service Awards. In its 9th year, the goal of county’s award program is to honor individuals and groups in Pitkin County for their outstanding service, leadership and civic involvement. There are ten award categories including: Greg Mace Award in memory of the late lifelong volunteer Greg Mace, Children and Youth, Seniors, Health, Community Pride, Education, Good Samaritan, Environment, Rising Stars and Exceptional, One-Time Events.

2009 Honorees:

GREG MACE AWARD: Barbara Wickes – for her work with the Christmas Wish foundation which she started in Aspen 25 years ago helping more than 6,000 local individuals and families in need.

Children/Youth: Jeff Gorsuch – for his free ski equipment program for the Aspen Valley Ski and Snowboard Club’s scholarship students and his work on the AVSC Board.

Senior Citizens: Seth Sachson – for his participation on the Senior Council and being a special friend to many senior citizens in Aspen.

Health: DeDe Brinkman – for her involvement with “Valley Angels” helping cancer patients with everything from delivered meals to companionship.

Community Pride: Jay Parker – for his dedication as a volunteer firefighter, helping veterans during the Winter Sports Clinic, contributing his canon at local football games and for the big “bang” in the morning every Fourth of July.

Education: Jeff White – for his mentorship to youth through the Aspen Buddy Program and spending his free time from being a 3rd grade teacher with young people.

Good Samaritan: Scott Gilbert – for his work with Habitat for Humanity building homes for needy families in the Roaring Fork Valley.

Environment: Charlie Eckart – for his tireless work with the Roaring Fork Outdoor Volunteers building and repairing trails in the Roaring Fork Valley and his participation on the City of Aspen Open Space Board.

Rising Star: Zach Beerboom – for volunteering at the Aspen Center for Environmental Studies after school.

Exceptional One Time Event: Alex Gooding – for his heroic rescue of a woman who had been thrown out of a raft in Slaughterhouse Rapids.

Pitkin County Commissioners will honor the winners at a special ceremony during their regular, televised meeting on Wednesday, October 14th with a reception at 11am and formal presentation at noon in their meeting room at 530 East Main Street, ground floor. The meeting will be televised live on CGTV Channel 11 and the public is invited to attend. Call 920-5204 for more information

Posted on Tuesday, September 15, 2009