2011 Pitkin County Cares Award Recipients Announced

(Aspen, CO) Eleven outstanding Roaring Fork Valley Residents are being honored for their volunteer work in Pitkin County. They were nominated by citizens to receive the Pitkin

County Cares Volunteer Service Awards. Now in its 11th year, the goal of the county’s volunteer award program is to honor individuals and groups for their outstanding service, leadership and civic involvement.


There are nine award categories including: Greg Mace Award in memory of the late, lifelong volunteer Greg Mace, Children and Youth, Seniors, Health, Community Pride, Education, Good Samaritan, Environment, and Rising Star.


2011 Honorees:


Greg Mace Award: Nancy Oden (25th year of the award))

For serving as Volunteer Director of the Aspen Music Festival lemonade stand for over 20 years, 43,000 hours, 200,000 cups of lemonade, 90,000 muffins and 130,000 cookies. The money raised from the stand, estimated in the hundreds of thousands of dollars during Oden’s tenure, benefits the MAA scholarship fund.

Children/Youth Award: Brooks Bryant

For helping Aspen Valley Ski and Snowboard Club student athletes juggle athletics and school work. Bryant is the student liaison for Aspen High School athletes who are falling behind in school.

Seniors Award: Bea Haggerty

For voluntarily cutting hair for the elderly residents of Whitcomb Terrace for over 20 years. A professional beautician, Haggerty has made “hair cutting day” a social event with conversation, emotional support, and individual attention for seniors living in senior housing.

Health Award: Bobbi Seelenfreund

For her volunteer work coordinating craft activities for the cancer-stricken children of the  Shining Stars Foundation and for her support and nurturing of families dealing with cancer through the Your Friends for Life program.

Community Pride Award: Paul Rudnick

For his dedicated service to the Pitkin County Planning and Zoning Commission for the past eight years.  A retired litigator, has been helpful to the commission in dealing with sometimes “tricky” procedural issues.


Education Award: Stacey Greene, Lynne Seeman and Gyles Thornely

For their tireless work for the past three years designing, raising funds and building the new Aspen Elementary School playground, in addition to countless hours of additional volunteering in the school.


Good Samaritan Award: Leigh Guilfoyle

For going above and beyond the call of duty as a bus driver for RFTA when he helped an elderly passenger carrying groceries make a taxi connection home. He paid for the taxi rather than have her wait a long time at the bus stop for the next bus.


Environment Award: Mary Kueneman

For her passion for pulling noxious weeds around the county. Known as the “weed warrior” she has delighted the Weed Advisory Board with her enthusiasm and energy for ridding our area of noxious weeds.


Rising Stars Award: Covington Pearson

For volunteering at the Pitkin County Senior Center doing everything from bussing tables to befriending some of the seniors there. This 13 year old lad is hard working, considerate, and focused and is already making a difference in the world.


Further details about these committed volunteers is available online at www.aspenpitkin.com


Pitkin County Commissioners will honor the winners at a special ceremony during their regular, televised meeting  on Wednesday, October 26th with a reception at 10:30 am and formal presentation at noon in the Rio Grande meeting room behind the Pitkin County Courthouse.  The meeting will be televised live on CGTV Channel 11 and the public is invited to attend. Call 920-5204 for more information.

Posted on Thursday, October 06, 2011