Local Volunteers Receive Pitkin County Cares Awards


Twelve outstanding Roaring Fork Valley Residents were honored today for their volunteer work in Pitkin County. They were nominated by citizens to receive the Pitkin County Cares Volunteer Service Awards. Now in its 13th year, the goal of the county’s volunteer award program is to honor individuals and groups for their outstanding service, leadership and civic involvement.

There are ten award categories including: Greg Mace Award in memory of the late, lifelong volunteer Greg Mace, Children and Youth, Seniors, Health, Community Pride, Education, Good Samaritan, Environment, Rising Stars and Exceptional One-Time Events.

2013 Honorees:


Greg Mace Award: Bennett Bramson

For his tireless volunteerism and philanthropy across several non-profit organizations valley-wide including Aspen Rotary, Aspen Ski Swap, Red Brick Center for the Arts, Race for the Cure, Basalt Chamber of Commerce, CMC Community Advisory Committee, and more.

Children/Youth Award: Adelaide Waters

For her six-year-and-counting commitment to a Little Buddy in the Aspen Buddy Program, spending time with and mentoring a now 16-year-old girl.

Seniors Award: Aspen Christ Episcopal Church in Aspen

For volunteering for Pitkin County Senior Services for over 10 years, Christ church volunteers have helped with everything from home delivered meals, to driving seniors to doctor’s appointments, helping them with chores, and delivering holiday baskets to seniors who might not ordinarily be remembered in this way during the holidays. 


Health Award: Caroline Field

For her work as a hospice nurse who goes above and beyond the call of duty in her tireless approach to patient care contributing countless hours of her own time to the benefit of others.

Community Pride Award: Joe High

For his passion in supporting disabled veterans in the community, getting help for people with PTSD, and keeping tabs on the local homeless population in addition to taking local seniors on outings.


Education Award: Terri and Tony Caine

For their extensive work and support of learning for all children with the founding of Summit 54, a summer school program of academic and life enrichment.


Good Samaritan Award: Jimmy Smith

For providing emotional support and advocacy to victims of domestic violence who call the RESPONSE hotline offering genuine concern, compassion, and non-judgmental kindness.


Environment Award: Helen Carlsen

For more than ten years of dedicated volunteer trail work for Roaring Fork Outdoor Volunteers and RFOV’s 2011 trail Ambassador of the Year.


Rising Stars Award: Michael Mondry, Eli Alpern & Victor Robinson

For being “Super Buddies” with the Aspen Buddy Program organizing monthly activities for young boys. 


Exceptional One-Time Event: Marc Zachary

For leading the Theatre Aspen’s new venue task force doing everything from manual labor to acting as logistical liaison resulting in the theatre’s new tent and landscaping.


Pitkin County Commissioners honored the recipients at a special ceremony during their regular meeting  on Wednesday, October 23rd   The meeting was televised live on CGTV Channel 11 and the public is invited to view it online at www.aspenpitkin.com. Click on "Watch Webcasts" October 23rd.

Posted on Wednesday, October 23, 2013