EOTC, RFTA Win State Transit Awards

The Colorado Association of Transit Agencies (CASTA) honored local transit employees, systems and projects this week during the organization’s annual fall conference in Snowmass Village. 


The Roaring Fork Transportation Authority received the Best Large Transit Agency of the Year Award, which is awarded to the top agency in the state with 22 or more buses.


“This isn't a new honor for RFTA, having received this award in 2003 and again in 2006,” said Sylvia Cranmer, communications manager for RFTA. 


The Elected Officials Transportation Committee, made up of elected officials from Pitkin County, Aspen and Snowmass Village, was also recognized for the funding and implementation of the Highway 82 bus lanes.  The dedicated bus lanes, which opened in the fall of 2008, represent a major time savings to RFTA buses.


“The bus lanes are an inspiring commitment to transit on the part of Aspen, Snowmass Village and Pitkin County,” said Elena Wilken, executive director of CASTA. 





RFTA CEO Dan Blankenship received the Transit Administrator of the Year Award, nominated resoundingly by three different entities (City of Aspen, City of Glenwood Springs and RFTA). Rounding out the awards, RFTA received the honor of Transit Marketing Program of the Year, thanks to the efforts of Marketing Manager Dawn Chase.


On hand to accept the EOTC’s award were Aspen Council Member Dwayne Romero, Snowmass Village Mayor Bill Boineau, Pitkin County Commissioner Jack Hatfield, as well as Aspen and Snowmass Village Transportation Directors, John Krueger and David Peckler.


The Colorado Association of Transit Agencies (CASTA) is Colorado’s statewide trade association for transit providers, vendors, government agencies and other interested organizations. For more information, visit http://coloradotransit.com/.

Posted on Thursday, September 17, 2009