Pitkin County Volunteers Honored Today


Twelve outstanding Roaring Fork Valley Residents were honored today for their volunteer work in Pitkin County. They were nominated by citizens to receive the Pitkin County Cares Volunteer Service Awards. Now in its 12th year, the goal of the county’s volunteer award program is to honor individuals and groups for their outstanding service, leadership and civic involvement.

There are ten award categories including: Greg Mace Award in memory of the late, lifelong volunteer Greg Mace, Children and Youth, Seniors, Health, Community Pride, Education, Good Samaritan, Environment, Rising Stars and Exceptional One-Time Events.


2012 Honorees: Click here to see photo


Greg Mace Award: Dorothea Farris

For her life-long dedication to community service. Dorothea spent over 30 years in elected office as an Aspen School Board member and Pitkin County Commissioner. In recent years her many volunteer pursuits involve preserving the environment as a member of the Colorado Wildlife Commission, West Elk Scenic Byway commission, and Crystal Valley Environmental Protection Association, to name a few.

Children/Youth Award: Beth Meager

For going above and beyond the call of duty as a Big Buddy in the Aspen Buddy Program.

For over 5 years Beth has helped her Little Buddy Aeelyn get involved in local activities, including the Aspen Valley Ski and Snowboard Club, that she may not have had exposure to. She has also been an academic advocate helping Aeelyn with school projects, homework, attending her plays and being Aeelyn’s biggest cheerleader.

Seniors Award: Aspen Elks Lodge #224

For treating valley senior citizens to scrumptious meals and gift during celebrations five times a year. The Elks happily serves more than 100 senior at Winterskol, Easter, Independence Day, Christmas and at the annual summer picnic. They also treat seniors to front row seats to the Fourth of July Parade which makes a big difference in the lives of older adults who would otherwise not be able to enjoy the festivities because of health and mobility issues.


Health Award: Marc Lipman

For volunteering for the Shining Stars and Sunshine Kids foundations for over a decade. Marc attends every event to benefit children with cancer and other life-threatening diseases. He does everything from serve meals, take kids on hikes, and help raise money for the organizations.

Community Pride Award: Bobby Mason

For his long-time commitment to community fundraisers for locals with illness or the need for life-changing surgery. Bobby is a cheerleader for Aspen using his music to inspire, entertain and raise money for those in need. 


Education Award: Amy and Barry Gordon

For their work as English tutors for the English in Action program. Amy and Barry tutor adult immigrants one-on-one helping their students become competent English speakers and better assimilate into our community.


Good Samaritan Award: Peggy Johnston

For her assistance to children and families in need. Peggy has provided financial support and has purchased necessities for struggling families to help relieve their burden. She also canvasses her many friends to help her help these families.


Environment Award: Gail Mason

For her volunteer work with Roaring Fork Outdoor Volunteers. Gail is an RFOV Crew Leader who has worked on many local trail projects including but not limited to: Smuggler Mountain, Lost Man Trail, Skyline Ridge, and the Highline Trail.


Rising Stars Award: Aubrey Wolfe

For her youthful contribution to the Roaring Fork Outdoor Volunteers Board. A Senior at Glenwood Springs High School, Aubrey has devoted much time and energy to board meetings and several RFOV trail projects.


Exceptional One-Time Event: Alexandre Roy

For his essential role in helping the Forest Service remove the remains of dozens of cows who had become stranded in a cabin in Conundrum Creek last winter. In all he has given 800 hours of volunteer time to the Forest Service.


Further details about these committed volunteers is available online at 



Pitkin County Commissioners honored the winners at a special ceremony during their regular, televised meeting  today,  Wednesday, October 24th. The meeting was televised on CGTV Channel 11. Call 920-5204 for more information.

Posted on Wednesday, October 24, 2012